Loading....

Restrictions to Visitor Access – 17/3/2020

As you are aware, we have already put in place measures to protect the health and safety of our residents and team and we thank you for supporting us with those measures. However, things have progressed rapidly in the last few days and although we have no reported cases of Coronavirus in any of our homes, we have taken the difficult decision to STOP visitor access with effect from midnight tonight, 17th March 2020. 

Whilst we understand how very important visits are to residents and families, and the prospect of restrictions may be concerning to you, we also ask you to recognise that as carers of the most vulnerable people in our community, we must be hyper-vigilant in our response. The only exceptions will be for GPs, emergency personnel and employees who will be screened using our COVID-19 protocols. 

We expect that the Commonwealth Department of Health to finalise more detailed guidance shortly but the Minister for Aged Care, the Hon Richard Colbeck, is encouraging aged care providers to limit visitors to residential aged care, under national guidelines aimed at the prevention and control of COVID-19.   “Given the risks to older Australians from COVID-19, particularly those with chronic disease and other frailties, we now recommend that residential aged care providers restrict visitor access,” Minister Colbeck said.  “Our plan is to slow the spread, to save lives.”   

As we work our way through this situation, we ask that you keep telephone calls to Registered Nurse in Charge for urgent matters only as they are busy caring for our residents. If you have any non-urgent concerns, please email them to the General Manager of your Moran Home.  

We have new lifestyle programming underway which we will do our very best to engage your loved one in. Activity programs will be published shortly and uploaded to the Friends & Family area of our website.   www.morangroup.com.au  We will be issuing further details in the next few days about different ways we can facilitate engagement with your loved ones and our lifestyle team will be available to facilitate phone contact with you and our residents. You can contact them at 

Sylvania Lifestyle – sylvania.lifestyle@morangroup.com.au

Engadine Lifestyle – engadine.lifestyle@morangroup.com.au

Kellyville Lifestyle – kellyville@morangroup.com.au 

Roxburgh Park Lifestyle – roxburghpark.lifestyle@morangroup.com.au 

This situation also requires some changes to the handling of laundry.  Due to heightened infection control measures we are no longer able to permit the removal of soiled laundry from Moran Homes to be washed and laundered by family members at home.  

We will facilitate visits in the event your loved one commences active palliation.  If you are involved in the care of a resident with needs, please discuss any concerns directly with the General Manager of your home.  

Thank you for your ongoing support.  

Peter MoranManaging DirectorMoran Health Care Group  

 

Lorraine Kelly, General Manager, Moran Sylvania | lorraine.kelly@morangroup.com.au | Mob. 0412 978 299 | Ph. 02 9532 6222

Mary Gibbs, General Manager, Moran Engadine | mary.gibbs@morangroup.com.au | Mob. 0427 926 767  | Ph. 02 9548 7777 

Nelly Banag, General Manager, Moran Kellyville | nelly.banag@morangroup.com.au | Mob. 0466 928 124 |  Ph. 02 9881 4222

Christy Malong, Care Manager, Moran Roxburgh Park | christy.malong@morangroup.com.au | Mob. 0466 012 966 | Ph. 03 9303 6333 

Back To Top